40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801

SUN - THU : 10a–10p
FRI - SAT : 10a–midnight

Facebookfind us on facebook


Penhallow ($5)
Sat. March 17, 8pm

William Shatner Beat Night
Sun. March 18, 7pm

Mon. March 19, 6:30pm

Open Mic
Wed. March 21, 7:30pm

Ray DeMarco & Friends ($5)
Fri. March 23, 8pm

Susie Burke & David Surette ($10)
Sat. March 24, 8pm

Henna Night with Jess
Tue. March 27, 5pm

Open mic
Wed. March 28, 7:30pm

Elroy ($5)
Fri. March 30, 9pm

Cosy Sheridan ($10)
Sat. March 31, 8pm

Open mic
Wed. April 4, 7:30pm

Read Free
Thu. April 5, 7pm

Clyde Bisbee & the Wheelhouse Revelers ($5)
Fri. April 6, 9pm

Danielle Miraglia & the Glory Junkies ($5)
Sat. April 7, 9pm

People Like You, Jefferson's Birthday Party ($5)
Fri. April 13, 9pm

Hickory Horned Devils ($5)
Sat. April 14, 9pm

Open Mic
Wed. April 18, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. April 19, 7pm

Larry Campbell and Teresa Williams ($20 in advance or $25 at the door)
Fri. April 20, 8pm

Henna Night with Jess
Tue. April 24, 5pm

Tom & Carol Project (Tom Richter & Carol Coronis) ($5)
Thu. April 26, 8pm

Kenny White ($5)
Fri. April 27, 8pm

Jon Ross's Rockin' Rhythm Review ($5)
Sat. April 28, 9pm

Open Mic
Wed. May 2, 7:30pm

Read Free
Thu. May 3, 7pm

The Sidewalk Boys ($5)
Fri. May 4, 8pm

River Sister ($5)
Sat. May 5, 9pm

Open Mic
Wed. May 9, 7:30pm

Great Bay Sailor ($5)
Fri. May 11, 8pm

The Mystix ($5)
Sat. May 12, 8pm

Open mic
Wed. May 16, 7:30pm

Ben Baldwin and the Big Note ($5)
Fri. May 18, 8pm

Summit Indie Fest ($TBD)
Sat. May 19, 6pm





our books


Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.